Monday, February 8, 2016

Music Monday - "Maybe I'm Amazed" by Paul McCartney (1970)

Do you have a favorite love song?  My favorite changes from time to time, but I always seem to come back to "Maybe I'm Amazed" by Paul McCartney. 

Paul McCartney wrote this song for his wife Linda just before the Beatles broke up.  It's such an empassioned love song about how love can make you stronger and can fill you with a sense of wonder:

"Maybe I'm amazed at the way you love me all the time
Maybe I'm afraid of the way I love you
Maybe I'm amazed at the the way you pulled me out of time
And hung me on a line
Maybe I'm amazed at the way I really need you"

There were several versions of this song over the 1970's.  The original was released as a music video in the U.K. in 1970.  It is all music and photos of the McCartney family, and it is beautiful.  Paul McCartney did not want to release "Maybe I'm Amazed" as a single, although it appeared on his McCartney album (1970) and also Wings Over America (1976).  The single was released in 1977.  Paul McCartney has said that this is the song he wants to be remembered for.

Here is the original video.  I hope you enjoy!  

Book Review - The Secret to Hummingbird Cake by Celeste Fletcher McHale

Book Synopsis
The next read for fans of novels like The Same Sweet Girls and The Last Girls, and films like Steel Magnolias, The Secret to Hummingbird Cake will captivate lovers of stories about unbreakable small-town friendships. Perfect for book clubs, this funny, flamboyant, and fearless novel offers a peek into Southern life through the lives of three genuine, loyal female friends as they endure life’s trials and tribulations.
 
What’s the secret? Carrigan, Ella Rae, and Laine have been friends since the day Rae beat up a boy who tried to pick on Laine in kindergarten—and Laine is still trying to keep the other two out of trouble. Having grown up in the same small town of Bon Dieu Falls, Louisiana, they’ve been through everything together, from a State Softball Championship to Carrigan’s elopement at seventeen.

But when cancer threatens to rip the trio apart, their world spins in a way they’ve never known before. How deep do the bonds of friendship go? Through it all, they may just discover the secret to the divine taste of hummingbird cake—and the secret to a friendship that never ends. 
 
My Review
The Secret to Hummingbird Cake is a wonderful read.  It is a novel that feels real;  the characters are well developed and multi-dimensional, and their joys and struggles are very true to life as well.

I loved the southern small town setting of this book.  As a lifelong southerner, the author captures the setting and the uniqueness of southern living so well.

The novel focuses on friends Carrigan, Ella Rae, and Laine.  I am sure that you will learn to care about them in this book, as I did.  It is wonderful to read a book about friendship, and that is at the heart of The Secret to Hummingbird Cake.

I would recommend this novel for fans of southern fiction, small town settings, inspirational fiction, and women's fiction.  You are sure to enjoy your time in Bon Dieu Falls.

Author Bio
Celeste Fletcher McHale is a Louisiana born-and-bred literary firecracker who has been praised for her hilarious wit, raw emotion, and powerfully authentic characters. Beautifully-written and compelling, readers have affirmed they recognize their own friends and loved ones in these pages, have laughed and cried from beginning to end—and are eager to read more of McHale’s breakout Southern literary writing. 

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.